Skip navigation.
oncf home

Conservation Target Areas

ONCF has hosted the County (local) Biodiversity Action Plan (BAP) since 2000.  During that time we have developed good partnerships with over 20 organisations in the county as well as other county BAP Officers. The BAP has evolved and now uses the Conservation Target Area (CTA)  Approach to deliver BAP habitat targets. The project is co-ordinated by the Oxfordshire Biodiversity Project Manager, currently the  Biodiversity Project Manager and partners  are working in 21 CTAs.

CTAs identify the most important areas for wildlife and therefore where targeted conservation work will have the greatest benefit. The main aim within CTAs is to restore biodiversity at at a landscape-scale through the maintenance, restoration and creation of BAP priority habitats. This will help wildlife to survive and be better able to adapt to climate change. The Biodiversity Project Manager has a vital facilitation role in this process, he maintains the focus of the partnership on countywide targets and in CTAs, where partners have no capacity, he is able to give advice to landowners. Click here for more information on the CTA process.

CTAs are the equivalent to Biodiversity Opportunity Areas that have been mapped across the south-east for the South East Biodiversity Strategy. 

Detailed information on CTAs

There are 36 CTAs in Oxfordshire. Click here to see a map of these areas and a spreedsheet giving details of the associated habitats.  Two examples that show how we have worked in different CTAs can be downloaded here Oxford Meadows and the  Swere Valley and Upper Stour.

You can access indivdual CTA information below.  Each CTA statement is around 4 pages and includes: information about the biodiversity, geology and topograhy, a map and habitat targets. We would recommend that you also download the introductory pdf that explains the methodology behind the CTAs.

Introductory document

1. Berkshire Downs Escarpment 13. Lower Cherwell Valley 25. Thame Park
2. Bernwood 14. Lower Windrush Valley 26. Thames and Cherwell at Oxford
3. Blenheim and Ditchley 15. Northern Evenlode Valleys 27. Thames Clifton to Shillingford
4. Blewbury Downs South East 16. Northern Valleys 28. Thames Radley to Abingdon
5. Brill and Muswell Hills 17. Otmoor 29. Thames Wallingford to Goring
6. Chilterns Dipslope and Plateau 18. Oxford Heights East 30. Tusmore and Shelswell Parks
7. Chilterns Escarpment North 19. Oxford Heights West 31. Upper Cherwell Valley
8. Chilterns Escarpment Central 20. Oxford Meadows and Farmoor 32. Upper Thames
9.  Chilterns Escarpment South Central 21. Ray 33. Upper Windrush Valley
10. Chilterns Escarpment South 22. Shotover 34. West Oxfordshire Heights
11. Glym and Dorne Valleys 23. South Cotswold Valleys 35.  Wychwood and Lower Evenlode
12. Kirtlington and Bletchingdon  24. Swere Valley and Upper Stour 36. Wytham